Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
News & Press: Latest News

LEX Scholarship Essay Winners Announced

Monday, June 8, 2015  
Share |

It gives me great pleasure to announce the 2015 winners of the LEX Essay Competition. This year we had eighteen (18) applications and five winners (5). They are:

Karen Marroquin, San Jacinto College - North Campus
(Jeanette Liberty, Program Director, Paralegal)

Christine Oldham, Mount San Antonio College
(Martin Ramey, Professor, Paralegal Program)

Christopher Queen, George Washington University
(Toni Marsh, Director)

Nancy Rodriguez-Valdes, SUNY Rockland Community College
(Deborah Vinecour, Chair of Paralegal Studies)

Geneva Roman, University of California - San Diego Extension
(Julia Dunlap, Director, Legal Education Programs)

This year the five scholarship winners will be invited to present/discuss their papers at a forum/roundtable moderated by me at the 2015 AAfPE National Conference in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Also, this year for the first time, we have a second-time winner of the scholarship: Karen Marroquin, from San Jacinto College - North Campus, who joined us last year in Las Vegas. The Committee was most impressed with this accomplishment, and we hope she will join us again this year with all the other winners in Milwaukee.

I would like to thank the LEX Regional Representatives for their time and hard work in reading and grading the essays.

Kristine Condon - North Central Region
Linda T. Chin - Northeast Region
P. Darrel Harrison - Pacific Region
Ernest Davila - South Central Region
Barry Puett - Southeast Region

Mary M. Flaherty, J.D.
AAfPE Director, Baccalaureate Programs
AAfPE National LEX Coordinator
Suffolk University,
Boston, MA

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal